Syracuse UniversityNEW YORK CITY

Make a Gift
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • Syracuse University NYC badge

    Palitz Gallery

    The second floor of Syracuse University’s Lubin House is home to the Louise and Bernard Palitz Gallery. Made possible through the generous support of alumna Louise Palitz and her husband, Bernard, the gallery hosts several art exhibits throughout the year, including two major public shows—one in the fall and one in the spring.

    The SUArt Galleries on campus, the generosity of private collectors, and the talents of alumni are what help to make the Palitz Gallery a popular feature of Lubin House.

    Curators of the Palitz Gallery exhibits are Domenic Iacono, (, director of SUArt Galleries and David Prince (, associate director/curator.

    You can contact the SUArt Galleries staff at 315.443.4097.

    Current Exhibit

    11th annual Wynn Newhouse Awards

    April 23 - June 7, 2018

    Monday–Friday, 10 a.m.–5 p.m.
    Saturday, 11 a.m. -4 p.m.
    New York, NY – The Palitz Gallery proudly presents the 11th annual Wynn Newhouse Awards Exhibition open now through June 7. Palitz Gallery is located in Syracuse University’s Lubin House at 11 E. 61 St., New York City. The Wynn Newhouse Awards Exhibition draws attention to the achievements of artists of excellence who have disabilities. Exhibition hours are Monday-Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Exhibition runs through June 7; closed Memorial Day weekend. It is free and open to the public. Contact 212.826.0320 or for more information.

    Each of the award winners receives a portion of a $60,000 per year allotment from the Samuel I. Newhouse Foundation. This year, 19 works are on display, including drawings, video art, and paintings. Grant winners are Beverly Baker, Gregory Blackstock, Sky Cubacub, Amy Stacey Curtis, Myasia Dowdell, Shannon Finnegan, Helen Rae and B.D. White.

    A selection committee reviewed the nominees, determined the winner and decided how the grant money would be dispersed among the artists. This year’s selection committee members were Eve Biddle, curator and executive director, Wassaic Project; Dustin Grella, artist, animator, and 2016 Award Winner; Shane Lavalette, director, Light Work; and Valerie Rousseau, curator, American Folk Art Museum.

    About the Awards

    Wynn Newhouse was a prominent and avid art collector who lost functional use of one hand in an industrial accident as a young man. By midlife, he was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. Newhouse envisioned the Wynn Newhouse Awards in 2005. The program provides grants to talented fine artists with disabilities as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act. Newhouse was joined by top artists, curators, and critics who shared his belief that many disabled people have unique insights and skills that can enhance their ability to create exciting art. He hoped that these exhibitions would enable the arts public to see the many creative ideas contained in their works. He passed away in 2010.